BUBBLING CAULDRON OF EMOTIONS

Recently I underwent the arduous process of getting employment. Along with my resume, I worked extra hard on my graphic designing and writing portfolio. With every firm on the lookout for exceptional talent, it’s tough and also imperative to provide an impressive resume and portfolio.

My journey involved multiple calls and emails to different organisations. Some responded, some did not which further lead to a whirlwind of emotions regarding my own ability and work.

Is my resume not impressive enough?

Am I not capable enough to get that job even when I know I can do it?

Will I have to take just another job to pay my bills?

Do I need to work on more projects for my portfolio?

Even before commencing my journey, I was tutored on the virtues of optimism, patience and healthy reception of failure. But it was only when I encountered the situation, I realised that it’s easier said than done. Failure leads to frustration. Frustration leads to anxiety. Anxiety leads to impatience. Impatience leads to mental disturbance. Mental disturbance leads to pessimism. Pessimism leads to loss of confidence. This is how I experienced the vicious circle of failure.

I honestly admit that even I got trapped in this destructive force for quite some time. I reviewed my work and resume umpteen times. I got it reviewed by my friends and acquaintances. Except for minor changes nobody said any disheartening things like it’s banal or unimpressive. I wondered if this was the case, then why I was sinking deeper into disappointment and pessimism. Why I was not getting interview calls? I still don’t have any explanation for it but I believe that is how human psychology works most of the time when faced with a similar situation.

I had also limited my options by settling for not what I was being offered but for what I wanted to do. If you also follow the same ideology then prepare yourself for its consequences as well. Learn to be firm in your thoughts and actions. If you have made a conscious choice to do certain things in life then learn to take ownership and responsibility for your actions. You cannot run around crying with swollen eyes that nobody counselled you before you made a particular decision. Such behaviour suits a five year old child and not an adult who has entered maturity. Few things are taught while some you learn from your experiences. This is one of them.

I am happy and proud about the choice I made. Everybody loves to get pampered with a lot of choices, and even I expected the same. But too many choices can also complicate life. Make your life simple by hoping and praying for just one thing that you desperately want.

It will find you wherever you are, LIKE IT FOUND ME.

 

 

Leave a Reply

